Tuesday, May 31, 2016

Runoff elections set for June 18; early voting runs June 6-14

Voters will select representatives to fill the two remaining open seats on the DCCCD Board of Trustees in a runoff election scheduled for Saturday, June 18, 2016.

"The most important election in the last 40 years of the DCCCD is only half-finished," said Fred Newbury, president of the Dallas Community College Faculty Association (DCCFA). "All DCCCD retirees; current faculty, staff and administrators; and current and former students, need to remain involved and engaged through June 18."

Trustees represent the community in the oversight and governance of the DCCCD and are elected to six year terms to represent single-member districts, as depicted on this map. Terms for Districts 1 (currently represented by Sonny Williams) and 7 (Charletta Rogers Compton) expire in 2018. Terms for Districts 5 (Wesley Jameson) and 6 (Diana Flores) expire in 2020. Phil Ritter was elected May 7 to represent District 2 to succeed Trustee Bob Ferguson.

"Past runoff elections often generate no more than a few hundred votes. Working together, we have an unprecedented opportunity to shape the future of the DCCCD," Newbury said.

In District 3, which covers the northeastern quadrant of Dallas County, including Sachse, Garland, Rowlett, Lake Highlands and other parts of Northeast Dallas, Dorothy Zimmermann and Tommy Reed will compete in a runoff to succeed Trustee Jerry Prater.

In District 4, which covers the southeastern wedge of Dallas County stretching from Lakewood and parts of East Dallas and Pleasant Grove to Mesquite, Sunnyvale, Seagoville and Balch Springs, Monica Lira Bravo and Martha Jo Talbot will compete in a runoff to succeed Trustee Bill Metzger.

Early voting will be available from June 6 to June 14. The Dallas County Elections Department has published a PDF document with all of the early voting polling places. You also can see a Google Map of the early voting locations at this link. For early voting polling places, hours vary by day. Those who choose to vote early can do so at any of the early voting polling places.

For the June 18 Joint Runoff Election Day, polling places can be found at this link. If you choose to vote on June 18, you must vote at the polling place assigned to your precinct. Election Day polling places are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on June 18 only. You can find your precinct at this link.

Voters who live in District 3 or District 4 who wish to vote absentee by mail may complete an Application for Ballot By Mail form, and return that completed form to the address indicated on the form. Application forms must be received by the Dallas County Elections Department, by Friday, June 3, in order for a voter to receive an absentee ballot before election day, June 18.

"Even if you are not registered to vote or do not live in District 3 or District 4, you can get involved by sharing information with your friends and family who do, and explaining the importance of the vital role the DCCCD plays in improving lives and growing the economy," Newbury said.

More information is available from The Dallas Morning News.

No comments:

Post a Comment