Monday, September 28, 2015

What are the principles to which DCCFA adheres?

The DCCFA hopes you will join and/or renew your membership for the 2015-2016 academic year. In asking for your membership, we thought it would be helpful to share our principles with you. The DCCFA: 

Is committed to our students and their learning;

Should promote the welfare of the members, and at all times advocate for our faculty;

Values and encourages diversity for faculty and students and realizes that differences in gender, national or ethnic origin, sexual orientation, cultures, life choices, religion, or any unique life experiences brings a richness to our colleges and classroom. Every employee and student has the right to expect fairness, equity and equal opportunity;

Is committed to supporting the right for academic freedom and academic responsibility. Each faculty member has the right to speak his/her own truth in fulfilling his/her professional responsibility;

Believes the collegial system is a unique but fragile system that must be protected. It is one that values open debate and discourse, differences in opinion and intellectual pursuits;

Believes the Association should operate in a professional, thoughtful manner within institutional parameters while maintaining a proactive and activist orientation. It is our right and responsibility to foster intellectual inquiry and encourage debate about policy and the allocation of District financial resources;

Is committed to encouraging, protecting, and practicing the democratic ideals that provide the foundation for our organization;

Believes that the foundation of the DCCCD is its faculty which provides continuity, communicates the culture, and delivers the instructional message;

Believes the leadership of the Association should have an ongoing commitment to improve communication and encourage participation and discourse with students and all employee groups;

Is committed to assisting and supporting new faculty.

Tuesday, September 22, 2015

Faculty Council participates in Distance Learning Compression Planning Meeting

The Faculty Council on Sept. 18 participated in a compression planning meeting with numerous stakeholders to identify areas of emphasis for the ongoing success of distance learning in the DCCCD.

The meeting concluded with a decision that LeCroy Center Provost Pam Quinn and Faculty Council President Fred Newbury would lead a task force to develop a vision, philosophy and strategic plan for distance learning.

The compression planning meeting was scheduled at the request of the college presidents in the aftermath of concern about the marketing of the “Ready2Go degree plan.” In the interim, however, LeCroy Center leadership on May 27 agreed to make the “Ready2Go” courses available to all of the colleges to use within their own programs. Consequently, the compression planning meeting focused on more strategic issues, such as:

1.       To identify the key components of a high quality online course;
2.       To identify faculty support needs in the development of high quality online courses;
3.       To identify faculty support needs in the delivery of online courses in which students succeed;
4.       To generate 3-5 ways to support and retain students via our online courses;
5.       To determine the key roles the LeCroy Center plays in the development and delivery of our online courses.

The Council is encouraged to have an ongoing crucial role in helping to identify answers to these questions, and moreover an opportunity to provide faculty leadership in developing the District’s long-term vision, philosophy and strategic plan for distance learning.

2015-2016 DCCFA Standing Committees, Meetings, and Members

The DCCFA practices shares governance within the organization through informal and formal means. Each college's faculty association president welcomes input directly from his/her colleagues on issues of interest to faculty. 

In addition, DCCFA conducts an annual convention. This year's convention begins at 2 p.m. Friday, Nov. 13, at Commissioners Court, 411 Elm Street, Dallas, 75202. In advance of the convention, five standing committees meet to discuss issues within their purview and make recommendations to the Council and to the convention. This year, the committees will meet at 2 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 14, in Hoblitzelle Auditorium at the Bill J. Priest Campus of El Centro College, 1402 Corinth Street, Dallas, 75215. The five standing committees are:

Instructional Goals and Academic Freedom
·          Curriculum and curriculum revision
·          Faculty-student ratio
·          Freedom of choice of instructional mode
·          Faculty evaluation procedures
·          Professional growth
·          Instructional support service
·          Open hearing procedures
·          Definition of academic freedom
·          Appeal of unfair evaluation procedures

Economic/Faculty Welfare
·          Salary and benefits
·          Faculty schedule and work load
·          Faculty contracts

Political Information
·          Establish a political database of all DCCFA members to include precinct numbers, state representative and senatorial districts, and U.S. congressional districts
·          Establish a similar database of all faculty retirees
·          Generate interest in local elections affecting the DCCCD
·          Disseminate relevant political information regarding candidates and issues affecting the DCCCD
·          Serve as a political liaison to other professional organizations

·          Publication of DCCFA Advance newsletter blog
·          Press relations
·          Procedures for public announcements
·          Faculty-student communication

·          Encourage faculty to join DCCFA

Please be sure to thank the following committee members for their service for 2015-2016, and communicate with them any concerns you have regarding the issues within the purview of the committee on which they serve.
Instructional Goals and Academic Freedom Committee:
Bill Hammerschlag (BHC), Chair
Mark Skorick (BHC) 
Ollivette Hill (CVC) 
Gay Michele (ECC)
Amanda Preston (EFC)
Richard Means (MVC)
Roy Vu (NLC) 
Kathy Yates (RLC)

Economic and Faculty Welfare Committee:
Lisa Erich and Ray Attner (BHC)
Tommy Thompson (CVC), Chair 
Andy Mungenast (CVC) 
Melissa Weston (ECC)
Gerald Shilling (EFC)
Ryan Pettengill (MVC) 
Enrique Chamberlain (NLC) 
Dan Dao (RLC)

Political Information Committee:
Chris Malvik (BHC)
David McCoy (CVC) 
Glenda Easter (ECC)
Glynn Newman (EFC) 
Ken Alfers (MVC), Chair
Jonathon York (MVC)
James Duran (NLC) 
Patrick Moore (RLC)

Communications Committee:
Patti Burks (BHC) 
Jennifer Siemantel (CVC) 
Pam Crawford (ECC)
Matt Hinckley (EFC), Chair
Kristina Manzi (EFC)

Terris Mikelk (MVC)
Nathaniel Means (NLC) 
Erica Edwards (RLC)

Membership Committee:
Sheri Van Court (BHC)
Ivory Armstead (CVC)
Jessie Yearwood (ECC), Chair
Benja Allen (ECC)
Kassi Buck (EFC) 
Debby Sutton (MVC)
Brett Dyer (NLC)
Carlos Martinez (RLC) 

Wednesday, September 16, 2015

New base salaries now visible in eConnect

All compensation changes for the new academic year have been loaded into the eConnect payroll system. If you want to review your new base salary, go to eConnect, click on “Employee” and then “My Current Wage Information.”  This will show your new base salary (excluding any extra service). If you click "My Payroll Preview," you will see the complete preview of your September 30, 2015 pay, with active extra service compensation included, as well as updated payroll deductions.

If you have questions about your specific base salary, please contact your campus Human Resources office. Each faculty member's base salary change is unique, so please be patient as all of the necessary calculations are integrated into our payroll system.

Remember, all of the information and discussion about changes in our compensation - starting in July - is posted here and here and here and here.